Xiaoperior’s Pokemon Corner- Whatever Wednesday: My Favorite ‘Mons part 4

Today we will be discussing some ‘mons that have weirder types that tend to show up near the middle of one’s journey. Here are my favorite dark, poison and electric type pokemon!

1) Dark

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 10.02.44 PM

Dark types have always been interesting. Since they weren’t one of the original types, they had immediate appeal when they were introduced in second gen. The first few dark types were umbreon, murkrow, sneasel, the houndour line and tyranitar. Umbreon was a little underwelming (the non shiny one anyways), murkrow is a little odd and houndoom was just generic hellhound. So I gravitated towards sneasel and tyranitar. Sneasel didn’t evolve so tyranitar took the place of my favorite dark type for a while. Third gen brought about absol, which was significantly cooler looking that Tar (even mores as a mega). However, it was weavile that actually made me like dark types. It’s one of my favorite pokemon and the only reason it’s not here is because I’m saving it for later. Fifth gen brought hydreigon and zoroark. Both of these pokemon have amazing designs and very interesting concepts. Hydreigon is a vicious dark hydra and a dragon to boot. The only reason it lost to zoroark’s feral ferocity was the lack of pupils and the sock puppet minor heads.

2) Poison

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 10.59.35 PM

Poison is very much like fighting for me. It was just a boring type in first gen. Sure there are are venusaur, tentacruel and vileplume are pretty neat but I remember them for their grass and water typing. There’s also nidoqueen and nidoking but they look like those generic godzilla monsters. Weezing was ugly, arbok was underwelming and muk is literally a pile of crap. Gengar was the ghost poster child so I don’t really see it as poison either. Only by fourth gen did the poison type get more interesting with toxicroak and drapion. Fifth ten did well with scolipede as well. Sixth gen, however, came through with dragalge. This is one beautiful pokemon. Not only is it elegant, it still retains the toxic looks of its poison typing. It’s a purple sea dragon that’s a nod towards the red tide phenomenon and looks absolutely amazing. Although it’s not very good in battle, dragalge wins this spot by looks alone. Being a dragon also helps.

3) Electric

Screen Shot 2014-12-10 at 11.12.54 PM

No. Pikachu is not my favorite. I got all my pikachu out of my system by the end of the Orange League during season one of the anime. After then, the yellow rodent has essentially became a promotional eyesore where it is more or less harder to find pokemon merchandise without it than with it. Although I don’t like pikachu a whole lot, I do respect it for all that it’s able to achieve with its simple yet effective design. Also, he was my main in Brawl so I can’t completely hate on pikachu as a species either. However, there are plenty of other great electric types. Pokemon like ampharos, manetric, luxray and zebstrika are all great pokemon. However, none of them are particularly amazing. Then along came heliolisk. First look, heliolisk looks fairly simple in design. Sure its exudes the lizardy coolness of sceptile but there was nothing special about it. In battle, HOWEVER, heliolisk completely changes. I’m not saying that it’s an amazing battler either. It’s just that when it attacks, heliolisk actually has a frill of skin around its neck that opens up like a frilled agama! I wasn’t aware of that from its Sugimori art and it completely took me by surprise the first time I saw it. That’s why heliolisk is my favorite.

This entry was posted in Pokemon Corner and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment